Home News

Sail Scene - November 2008

Inaugural invitational cup regatta to debut
New York Yacht Club Commodore Charles H. Townsend announced the inaugural New York Yacht Club World Invitational Cup, an invitational fleet-racing regatta to bring together amateur yacht-club teams to compete against teams from around the world. Organizers say the sailing will be tough and demanding, allowing each club to demonstrate the skills of its top sailors.

“This event will once again bring the Corinthian spirit to the forefront of the sport, and enable us to share the excitement of sailing on the waters of Rhode Island Sound,” says Townsend.

Invitations have been sent to many of the world’s most prominent yacht clubs to compete in this first biennial event, to be held Sept. 15-19, 2009, at Harbour Court, the NYYC’s on-the-water clubhouse in Newport, R.I.

Racing on Rhode Island Sound will be done aboard the newly developed NYYC Swan 42 fleet, with some teams bringing their own boats and others chartering boats through the club.

For information, visit www.nyyc.org/ worldinvitationalcup or contact John Mendez, event chair, at Jmendez@ nyyc.org or call (401) 862-5202.

Long Island club wins Hinman Masters

Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club, in Oyster Bay, N.Y., won the 2008 New York Yacht Club’s Invitational Regatta for the Commodore George R. Hinman Masters Trophy — better known as the Hinman Masters.

The three-day team-racing event was sailed at the NYYC’s Harbour Court in Newport, Aug. 15-17. In second place was the New York Yacht Club, and third was Noroton, of Noroton, Conn. Two points each separated the top three teams.

Rounding out the standings was Southern, in New Orleans; Larchmont, in New York; Royal Thames, London, England; and Ida Lewis, Newport. For the Masters, skippers must be at least 45 years old and crews 40. The competition was 3-3 in Sonars with spinnakers — a rare sail in team racing.

Sailing for the winning Seawanhaka Corinthian were Al Constants, team captain; Priscilla Constants; Dave Constants; Gerry Eastman; Hugh Jones; Tom Kinney; Alison Kinney; Gary Van Dis; Robert Capital; Reg Willcocks; Eric Johnson; and Dave Kellegg.

The regatta was named for NYYC Commodore George R. Hinman Sr. (commodore 1959-60), the late father of Commodore George R. Hinman Jr. (commodore 2005-06).

fbtwit yt