Resources
Read more news

Find Boating Resources for Training, Navigation, Boating Associations and Clubs

Boater’s ultimate resource guide

If you have an organization to include in our listings, e-mail m.trocchi@soundingspub.com.

 

EDUCATION AND TRAINING

American Boat School: www.amboatschool.com; 800-321-2977

Annapolis Powerboat School: www.annapolispowerboat.com; 800-638-9192

Atlantic Captain’s Academy: www.atlanticcaptainsacademy.com; 401-617-9265

Automotive Training Center (Marine Service Technology): www.autotraining.edu; 877-411-8041

BoatUS Foundation for Boating Safety and Clean Water: www.boatus.com/foundation; 410-897-0512

Boatwise LLC www.boatwise.com; 800-698-7373

Berkshire Boat Building School: www.berkshireboatbuildingschool.org; 413- 229-2549

The Boat School: www.boatschoolhusson.net; 207-907-5394

Cape Cod Boat School: www.capecodboatschool.com

Calvert Marine Museum: www.calvertmarinemuseum.com; 410-326-2042

Chapman School of Seamanship: www.chapman.org/p/257; 800-225-2541

Chesapeake Area Professional Captains Association: www.capca.net; 410-573-0201

Colgate Offshore Sailing School: www.offshoresailing.com; 888-454-7015

Florida Sailing & Cruising School: www.flsailandcruiseschool.com; 800-262-7939

International Yacht Restoration School: www.iyrs.org; 401-848-5777

The Landing School: www.landingschoolboats.com; 207-985-7976

Mariner Sailing School: www.saildc.com; 703-768-0018

Northwest School of Wooden Boatbuilding: www.nwboatschool.org; 360-385-4948

Performance Boat School: www.performanceboatschool.com; 352-620-8737

Skipping Fish Boat School: skippingfishboatschool.org; 502-298-0932

WoodenBoat School: www.thewoodenboatschool.com; 207-359-4651

Sail America: www.sailamerica.com; 800-817-7245

Sea Sense: www.seasenseboating.com; 727-289-6917

TrueCourse Captain’s School: www.truecourses.com;  937-478-1947

U.S. Power Squadrons: http://usps.org/

U.S. Sailing: http://training.ussailing.org; 401-683-0800

U-Sail of Central Florida: www.usail.com; 407-330-0633

Westlawn School of Yacht Design: www.westlawn.org; 207-853-6600

TrueCourse Captain’s School;  www.truecourses.com ;  937-478-1947

MUSEUMS

 

Antique Boat Museum: www.abm.org; 315-686-4104

Calvert Marine Museum: www.calvertmarinemuseum.com; 410-326-2042

Cape Cod Maritime Museum: www.capecodmaritimemuseum.org; 508-775-1723

Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum: www.cbmm.org; 410-745-2916

Connecticut River Museum: www.ctrivermuseum.org; 860-767-8269

Finger Lakes Boating Museum: www.flbm.org; flbm@rochester.rr.com

Herreshoff Marine Museum: www.herreshoff.org; 401-253-5000

J. Russell Jinishian Marine and Sporting Art Gallery http://jrusselljinishiangallery.com/ 

Maine Maritime Museum: www.bathmaine.com; 207-443-1316

The Mariners’ Museum: www.marinersmuseum.org; 757-596-2222

Maritime Classic Boat Museum: www.mcbmfl.org; 772-692-1234

Museum of Yachting: www.moy.org; 401-847-1018

Mystic Seaport: www.mysticseaport.org; 888-973-2767

New Hampshire Boat Museum: www.nhbm.org; 603-569-4554

New Jersey Maritime Museum: www.museumofnjmh.com; 609-492-0202

New Jersey Museum of Boating: www.njmb.org; 732-859-4767

North Carolina Maritime Museum: www.ncmaritime.org; 252-728-7317

Seaport Museum New York: www.seany.org; 212-748-8786

U.S. Coast Guard Museum: www.uscg.mil; 860-444-8511

U.S. Naval Academy Museum: www.usna.edu; 410-293-2108

 

FORUMS

 

BoaterEd: www.boatered.com/forum

The Hull Truth: www.thehulltruth.com

Iboats.com: forums.iboats.com/forum.php

Reel Boating: http://reelboating.com

Coast Guard Auxiliary: http://live.cgaux.org/

 

DREDGING AND BRIDGES

 

Army Corps of Engineers: www.ndc.iwr.usace.army.mil; 703-428-9061

Intracoastal Waterway bridges (Virginia and North Carolina): 757-398-6222

Intracoastal Waterway bridges (South Carolina, Georgia, Florida): 305-415-6800

 

SURVEYORS

American Society of Appraisers:  www.appraisers.org; 800-272-8258

Association of Certified Marine Surveyors: www.acms-usa.com; 401-397-1888

National Association of Marine Surveyors: www.namsglobal.org; 757-638-9638

Navtech US Surveyors Association: www.navsurvey.com; 800-245-4425

Society of Accredited Marine Surveyors: www.marinesurvey.org; 904-384-1494

 

SOCIAL MEDIA

 

Soundings on Facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/Soundings-magazine/71711913618

Soundings on Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/soundingsonline

Soundings on Twitter: www.twitter.com/soundingsonline

Soundings on YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/SoundingsMagazine?feature=mhum

 

COAST GUARD

 

Coast Guard: www.uscg.mil; www.gocoastguard.com

Coast Guard Auxiliary: www.cgauxa.org

Coast Guard Navigation Center: www.navcen.uscg.gov; 703-313-5900

Coast Guard Boating Safety Division: www.uscgboating.org

 

WEATHER

 

BoatU.S. Marine Weather: www.boatus.com/marine_weather

Commanders’ Weather: www.commandersweather.com; 603-882-6789

Marine Weather Center: www.mwxc.com; info@mwxc.com

National Weather Service: www.nws.noaa.gov

NOAA Marine Weather: www.weather.gov/om/marine/home.htm

Northeast Marine Weather: www.maineharbors.com/weather/marzone.htm

National Hurricane Center: www.nhc.noaa.gov

Oceanweather: www.oceanweather.com; 203-661-3091

Weather Underground: www.wunderground.com

 

CRUISING

 

America’s Great Loop Cruisers’ Association: www.greatloop.org; 877-478-5667

Attainable Adventure Cruising: www.morganscloud.com; info@morganscloud.com

Atlantic Cruising Club: www.atlanticcruisingclub.com; 888-967-0994

Cruising Club of America: www.cruisingclub.org

Cruising the ICW: www.cruisingtheicw.com

Great Lakes Cruising Club: www.glcclub.com; 810-984-4500

MarinaLife: www.marinalife.com; 410-752-0505

Maryland Cruising Club: www.marylandcruisingclub.com; jvogel8474@aol.com

Sea Ray Boat Club of Northern California: www.srbcnc.org;

Seven Seas Cruising Association: http://ssca.org; 954-771-5660

Waterway Cruising Guide: www.waterwayguide.com; 804-776-0044

 

ASSOCIATIONS

 

American Boat Builders & Repairers Association: www.abbra.org; 401-247-0318

American Boat and Yacht Council: www.abycinc.org; 410-990-4460

American Sailing Association: www.american-sailing.com; 310-822-7171

American Schooner Association: www.amschooner.org

American Sportfishing Association: www.asafishing.org; 703-519-9691

Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway Association: www.atlintracoastal.org;

Boat Owners Association of The United States  (BoatUS): www.boatus.com; 703-461-2878

The Billfish Foundation: http://billfish.org; 800-438-8247

Coast Guard Auxiliary Association: www.cgauxa.org

Cruising Rally Association: www.carib1500.com; 757-788-8872

Discover Boating: www.discoverboating.com;; amarkarova@nmma.org

Eastern Long Island Yachting Association: www.elisailing.org;

International Blue Jay Class Association: www.sailbluejay.org; 716-842-0800

International Game Fish Association: www.igfa.org; 954-927-2628

Maine Built Boats: www.mainebuiltboats.com; 207-899-7570

Michigan Boating Industries Association: www.mbia.org; 734-261-0123

National Boat Owners Association: www.nboat.com; 800-248-3512

National Marine Charter Association: www.marinecharter.org; 800-745-6094

National Marine Distributors Association: www.nmdaonline.com; executivedirector@nmdaonline.com

National Marine Electronics Association: www.nmea.org; 609-345-7070

National Marine Manufacturers Association: www.nmma.org; 312-946-6200

National Marine Representatives Association: www.nmraonline.org; 847-662-3167

National Water Safety Congress: www.watersafetycongress.org; 440-209-9805

Recreational Boating & Fishing Foundation: www.rbff.org; 703-519-0013

Recreational Fishing Alliance: www.joinrfa.org; 888-564-6732

Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers: www.sname.org

South Carolina Marine Association: www.scmarine.org; 843-889-9067

U.S. Offshore Racing Association: www.offshorerace.org; 401-683-0800

Yacht Brokers Association of America: www.ybaa.com; 410-940-6345

 

OWNERS CLUBS

 

Albemarle: www.albemarleboatowners.com

Albin Owners Group: www.albinowners.com

Bayliner: http://www.baylinerownersclub.org/index.php

Bertram: www.bertram.com/owners.aspx

Blackman: www.followingsea.net

Boat Owners Club of America: http://boatcomplaints.com/home.html

Boston Whaler Continuous Wave: http://continuouswave.com/whaler

Boston Whaler: http://bostonwhaler.com/Page.aspx/pageId/30631/Owners.aspx

Carver: www.carverownersclub.com

Chaparral: http://forum.chaparralboats.com

Cheoy Lee: http://www.cheoyleeassociation.com

Cobalt: http://mycobalt.net

Columbia: www.columbia-yachts.com

Chris-Craft Antique Boat Club: www.chris-craft.org/index.php; 319-247-7207

Cruisers: www.cruisersyachtsownersclub.com

Egg Harbor: http://www.eggharborowners.org

Fairline: www.fairlineownersclub.com/forum/portal.php

Glasspar: www.classicglasspars.com

Godfrey: www.godfreyownersclub.com

Grady-White: www.gradywhite.com/clubs

Grady-White: www.greatgrady.com

Gulf Star: www.gulfstarownersclub.com

Hardy: www.hardy-owner.org.uk

Hatteras: www.samsmarine.com/forums/index.php

Hunter: http://hunter.sailboatowners.com

Hurricane: www.hurricaneownersclub.com

Mako: www.classicmako.com

Mariah: www.mariahownersclub.com

Maxum: www.maxumownersclub.com

Meridian: www.meridianyachtowners.com

Pearson: http://pearson.sailboatowners.com

Penn Yan: www.pennyanbbs.org

Pioneer: www.pioneerownersclub.com

Polar Kraft: http://www.polarkraftownersclub.com

Princess: www.princessownersclub.com

Regal: http://www.regalownersforum.com

Rinker: http://rinkerownersclub.com

Sea Ray: www.searay.com/Page.aspx/pageId/9810/Owners-Club.aspx

Sea Ray: http://clubsearay.com

Seacraft Syndicate Boat Owners Club: http://ssboc.com.au

Shamrock: www.fishtheclassic.net/home.php

Silverton: www.silvertonclub.com

Star Craft: http://www.bates-starcraft.co.uk

Striper: http://seastriper.com

Triumph: www.triumphowners.net

Trojan: www.trojanownersclub.com

 

MEDIA


Boats.com: www.boats.com

Boat Trader: www.boattrader.com

Good Old Boat: www.goodoldboat.com/resources_for_sailors; 701-952-9433

PassageMaker Magazine: www.passagemaker.com

YachtWorld.com: www.yachtworld.com;

Lionseek.com: http://www.lionseek.com/boats

iboats.com: http://boats.iboats.com 

Bass Boat HQ http://www.bassboathq.com/ 

 

TOWING

 

Sea Tow: www.seatow.com; 800-473-2869

TowBoatU.S.: www.towboatus.com; 800-888-4869

 

GEAR AND SERVICES

 

BoatU.S.: www.boatus.com; 703-461-4666

West Marine: www.westmarine.com; 800-262-8464

Defender Industries: www.defender.com; 800-628-8225

Sailor’s Solutions: www.sailorssolutions.com; 631-754-1945

Hamilton Marine: www.hamiltonmarine.com; 800-639-2715

Gowrie Group: www.gowrie.com/yachtquote; 800-262-8911

iboats.com: http://iboats.com


BoatQuest

FOLLOW US
fbtwit yt