Skip to main content

America’s Cup announces Hall of Fame inductees

The Herreshoff Marine Museum and the America’s Cup Hall of Fame announced the next three inductees to the America's Cup Hall of Fame.

Coming from three distinct America’s Cup eras, two of them are Americans and one is Italian.

The first person to be inducted this year, posthumously, is Gerard B. Lambert Sr. — who was active in the periods 1930-37; the second, Jonathan Wright, was active between 1974-1987; and the third, Patrizio Bertelli, has been active since 1997.

The America’s Cup Hall of Fame induction ceremony, jointly organized by the Herreshoff Museum and Louis Vuitton, will take place June 29 at the Marble House in Newport, R.I., at the same time as the America’s Cup World Series regatta in Newport (June 27-July 1), the final event in the first annual season of racing the new AC45 catamarans.