Skip to main content

Bluewater cruising club honors sailors

The Ocean Cruising Club, the world’s truly global ocean cruising association, announced the recipients of the club’s annual awards, which recognize the achievements of ordinary individuals doing extraordinary things on the world’s oceans and brings those achievements to the attention of the sailing community at large.

This year, three recipients share the OCC Award of Merit: Tim Severin of Ireland; Dick Giddings of the United States; and James Wharram of the United Kingdom. 

All winners will be invited to attend the OCC Annual Dinner and Awards Ceremony on April 20 aboard HQS Wellington in London, where formal presentations of the awards will be made.