Skip to main content

British coastguard could undergo changes

Following a 14-week consultation, the British government has said cutting its coastguard stations from 19 to eight, with only three open all hours, will strengthen service.

Shipping minister Mike Penning outlined plans for three 24-hour operational centers — in Aberdeen, the Southampton/Portsmouth area and Dover.

In addition, there will be five sub-centers open during daylight — in Swansea, Falmouth, on the Humber and either Belfast or Liverpool and either Stornoway or Shetland.

Click here for the full report and click here for an accompanying opinion column on the issue.