Coast Guard leaders from Arctic Nations sign historic joint statement


A joint statement, officially establishing the Arctic Coast Guard Forum, was signed by leaders representing all eight coast guard agencies of the Arctic nations.

The Arctic Coast Guard Forum is an operationally-focused, consensus-based organization with the purpose of leveraging collective resources to foster safe, secure, and environmentally responsible maritime activity in the Arctic. Membership includes Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, the Russian Federation, and the United States.

“The United States is proud to join fellow Arctic nations at this inaugural Arctic Coast Guard Forum,” said Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson. “The Arctic is crucial to our shared security, and this declaration underscores our commitment to cooperating with our international partners as we navigate this challenging and changing region.”