Skip to main content

Conn. vessel sweeps in Newport Bermuda race

The 2010 Newport Bermuda Race ended at 10:17 p.m. June 23 when the last finisher arrived at St. David's Head with all but one of the 183 starters gently tugging at their dock lines in Bermuda. The last finisher, John Melvin's Westray of Riverside, Conn., arrived at St. David's Head in a 39-foot classic wooden Concordia class yawl designed in 1938. This year Westray beat two boats in the 103-entry division on corrected time. The race started June 18 from Castle Hill, Newport, R.I.

The St. David's Lighthouse Trophy for the top amateur boat went to Carina, owned by Rives Potts of Westbrook, Conn. The trophy is a replica of the lighthouse off which the race finishes. The Carleton Mitchell Finisterre Trophy, named for the winner of three consecutive Bermuda Races, was presented to the winner of the Cruiser Division, Neal Finnegan's Clover III of Dedham, Mass. The Philip S. Weld Prize, named for a well-known trans-Atlantic singlehanded racer, was awarded to the winner of the Double-Handed Division, Jason A. Richter's Paladin of Mt. Sinai, N.Y. And the Royal Mail Trophy went to the winner of the Open Division, Genuine Risk, sailed by Mark Watson, of the Royal Bermuda Yacht Club. In addition, the North Rock Beacon Trophy was presented to Carina as the top boat under the IRC Rule, and the Corporation of Hamilton Prize for first boat to finish went to Speedboat, owned by Alex Jackson, Riverside, Conn.

Knickerbocker Cup returns to action

The 28th Knickerbocker Cup, hosted by the Manhasset Bay Yacht Club in Port Washington, N.Y., will take place on Aug. 25-29.  The Knickerbocker Cup is a qualifier for the World Match Racing Tour, with the winner gaining an automatic entry to the Argo Gold Cup, one of the most prestigious match racing events on the Tour. Twelve teams from around the world have been invited to compete in the 2010 Knickerbocker Cup.

The international line-up of match racing teams from around the world has shaped up to provide racing on Manhasset Bay, located in western Long Island Sound. Reuben Corbett, of New Zealand, 2009 Knickerbocker champion, will be back to defend his title.

This year, the Knickerbocker Cup is invitating the community to watch the races on Aug. 28-29.  Boat tours are free and open to the public on a first come, first served basis. For information, e-mail:

ICSA names All-America sailing team members

The Intercollegiate Sailing Association of North America announced the members of its 2009/2010 ICSA All-America sailing team, along with the Quantum Female College Sailor of the Year, College Sailor of the Year, Sportsman of the Year and the winner of the Leonard M. Fowle Memorial Trophy for the all-around best college team.

The 2010 College Sailor of the Year is Thomas Barrows of St. Thomas, USVI, a graduating senior from Yale University and four-time recipient of ICSA All-American honors. Barrows was recognized for his numerous wins in A-Division over the course of the 2009-2010 season, which, when combined with the scores from B-Division, earned Yale the overall win at the Harry Anderson Trophy, the Nevins Trophy, the Danmark Trophy and the Old Guard Regatta for the Owen Trophy. He represented the U.S. Virgin Islands in China at the 2008 Olympics, finishing 21st out of 43 competing nations in the Laser class. He will represent the USVI again in the Laser, this time at the 2012 Olympics.

Allison Blecher of Fullerton, Calif., a graduating senior from College of Charleston, was named the 2010 Quantum Female College Sailor of the Year. She is the second Lady Cougar to win the honor and was named an ICSA All-American for the fourth consecutive year. The review panel praised Blecher's exceptional and extensive record that spanned both fall and spring seasons and saw her always finishing in the top tier of A-Division.

Liz Powers of Wellesley, Mass., a Harvard graduating senior, was recognized as the 2010 ICSA Sportsman of the Year.

The Leonard M. Fowle Memorial Trophy, recognizing the year's best all-around performance in college sailing, was awarded to Boston College. Presented since 1972, the award is determined by points accumulated at the major ICSA championships. During the fall season, Boston College won both the ICSA/Vanguard women's single-handed championship and the ICSA Sloop national championship. In the last two weeks, the Eagles finished second at both the ICSA women's national championship and the ICSA/APS Team Race national championship before crowning the year with victory at the ICSA/Gill national championship. BC is now the sixth school in 42-years of Intercollegiate Sailing Association history to win all three spring championships.

For more, visit

This article originally appeared in the September 2010 issue.