Skip to main content

Cruising Club hosts honorees

The Cruising Club of America celebrated its outstanding sailors of 2012 at its annual awards dinner on March 1 at New York Yacht Club in Manhattan.

David S. Cowper accepted the 2012 Blue Water Medal for his completion of six solo circumnavigations of the World and five solo transits of the Northwest Passage.

Thomas B. Crawford, Master of MV Mokihana, accepted the 2012 Rod Stephens Trophy for outstanding seamanship in the rescue of Derk Wolmuth and his 31-foot Vindo sailboat, Bela Bartok, during the 2012 Singlehanded Transpacific Yacht Race.

Karyn and Stephen James accepted the 2012 Far Horizons Award for a commendable 10 years and 38,000 miles of cruising.

Brin R. Ford accepted the 2012 Richard S. Nye Trophy for his contributions to the Club in the form of meritorious service.

Click here for information on the award recipients.