Skip to main content

First Sailing Hall of Fame inductees announced

Catching up to 200 years of sailing history in the U.S., the National Sailing Center & Hall of Fame announced the 15 sailors who will make up the historic inaugural class of inductees into the National Sailing Hall of Fame.

Inductees are American citizens, 45 years of age and up, who have made significant impact on the growth and development of the sport in the U.S. in categories of sailing, technical and contributor.

The undertaking to recognize Americans who have made outstanding contributions to the sport of sailing is central to the mission of the Hall of Fame, which was formed in 2005 and has completed the first phase of its plan to establish a permanent facility on the historic waterfront of Annapolis, Md.

The first group of inductees will be honored Oct. 23 during an invitation-only ceremony scheduled to take place at San Diego Yacht Club in California.

National Sailing Hall of Fame Inductees: US Sailing disabled sailing team coach and five-time Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year Betsy Alison (Newport, R.I.); surfboard industry pioneer Hobie Alter (California); 1998 Whitbread Round the World Race winning skipper Paul Cayard (Kentfield, California); four-time America’s Cup winning skipper Dennis Conner (San Diego); naval architect and America’s Cup winning skipper Ted Hood (Portsmouth, R.I.); sailor, author and Emmy-award winning sailing commentator Gary Jobson (Annapolis, Md.); 1972 Soling Olympic gold medalist Buddy Melges (Zenda, Wisc.); 1968 Star Olympic gold medalist and founder of North Sails Lowell North (San Diego, Calif.); and America’s Cup winning helmsman and four-time Rolex Yachtsman of the Year Ted Turner (Atlanta, Ga.).

National Sailing Hall of Fame Posthumous Inductees: Transatlantic Race record setter Capt. Charles “Charlie” Barr (Marblehead, Mass.); naval architect Capt. Nathanael G. Herreshoff (Bristol, R.I.); two-time America’s Cup winning skipper Emil “Bus” Mosbacher, Jr. (Greenwich, Conn.); the first singlehanded circumnavigator and noted writer Joshua Slocum (San Francisco); yacht designer Olin Stephens (Hanover, N.H.); and three-time America’s Cup winning skipper Harold S. Vanderbilt (New York, N.Y.).

“After years of planning, we are so pleased that the heroes of our sport are getting their long-overdue recognition,” Hall of Fame president Dick Franyo said.

For more on the individual accomplishments of the 2011 Inductees, visit:

Annapolis sailor Gary Jobson was profiled by his local paper. Click here for that report.