Skip to main content

Florida Sea Grant announces scholarship recipients

A record eight graduate students at universities in Florida have received Guy Harvey Scholarship Awards, recognizing their outstanding achievement in marine science research.

The following winners received $5,000 scholarships: Amber Ferguson, University of South Florida; Johanna Imhoff and Robert Ellis, Florida State University; Kristin Kopperud and Tyler Sloan, Florida Institute of Technology; and Arianne Leary, University of North Florida. A joint $5,000 scholarship was awarded to a team of two University of Florida students, Alexis Segal and Caitlin Pomerance.

The scholarship, established in 2010 through a partnership between Florida Sea Grant and the Guy Harvey Ocean Foundation, recognizes students at Florida universities whose research focuses on the biology, ecology, habitat or management of fish in Florida's marine environment.

Since the award was established, $84,000 in scholarships has now been given to 19 students at Florida universities. Recipients also receive a certificate designed and signed by well-known marine wildlife artist and conservationist Guy Harvey.

“This year 52 highly qualified students applied for this distinguished award. The recipients are the best and brightest of Florida’s graduate students who are studying fisheries science and policy,” said Karl Havens, director of Florida Sea Grant.