Skip to main content

Honey, Tunnicliffe named top U.S. sailors

Jules Verne winner Stan Honey and Snipe women's world champion Anna Tunnicliffe were named US Sailing's 2010 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year.

A shortlist of 10 male and six female sailors - determined from nominations submitted by members of US Sailing - was evaluated by a panel of sailing journalists who selected these two sailors for the noteworthy distinction. The winners will be honored Feb. 25 during a luncheon at the New York Yacht Club in Manhattan, where they will be presented with specially-engraved Rolex timepieces.

Honey was cited as "one of the most outstanding offshore sailors known worldwide" by a member of the award's selection panel that recognized him as the 2010 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year. Honey becomes the second American in the history of the award to receive the honor for the fastest circumnavigation of the globe.

Tunnicliffe has become the first woman in the award's history to earn it three consecutive years.

Click here for the full announcement.