Skip to main content

Mariners awarded for lifesaving and service

The Conference of Professional Operators for Response Towing and Association For Rescue At Sea celebrated and presented its distinguished lifesaving award at the 27th C-PORT Conference held Jan. 12-14 at Clearwater Beach, Fla. 

“The excellence of service depicted with this year’s nominations was some of the highest we have seen,” remarked Capt. Steve Sawyer, Coast Guard Retired and president of AFRAS. “It was impossible to select one recipient.” 

Receiving the award were Captains George Farrell and Daniel Higgins of TowBoatU.S. Yonkers and Captain Les Trafford of Sea Tow Shinnecock/Moriches.

Click here for the full report.

At the event, C-PORT also presented its lifesaving awards to nine captains, representing seven of C-PORT’s member companie.

“We are pleased to present lifesaving awards to these representatives of the marine assistance industry,” C-PORT executive director Tina Cardone said.

Click here for the full list of award winners.

Lastly, C-PORT presented its Compass Rose Award to a deserving member of the marine assistance industry. 

“A compass rose shows true direction,” explained Cardone. “This award is presented to someone who is dedicated to making the marine assistance industry better through their hard work and desire to make boating an enjoyable experience for everyone they meet.” 

Click here for more about the award winner.