Skip to main content

National Sailing Hall Of Fame announces 2015 inductees

The National Sailing Hall of Fame announced the six people who will make up its 2015 class of inductees.

Inductees include sailing school founder Steve Colgate (Fort Myers, Fla.), Olympic medalist Paul Foerster (Rockwall, Texas), Olympic medalist and author JJ Fetter (San Diego, Calif.), boat building innovators and brothers Meade and Jan Gougeon (both Bay City, Mich.) and U.S. Olympic Yachting Committee Director Samuel V. Merrick (Medford, N.J.), the recipient of the NSHOF’s 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award.

“The six members of the class of 2015 join 42 previously-recognized individuals as the National Sailing Hall of Fame continues to fulfill its mission by focusing attention on Americans who have made outstanding contributions to the sport of sailing,” Hall president Gary Jobson said. “Those achievements — on-the-water, at a drawing board or in the administration of the sport — have inspired and affected competitive sailors and recreational boaters alike. By recognizing these contributors and sharing their stories, the NSHOF is preserving the history of the sport and its impact on American culture while inspiring the next generation of sailors.”

Click here for the full report.