Skip to main content

News notes

Donations roll in

to build S.C. tall ship

Private donors have bequeathed $30,000 to $300,000 to build the tall ship Spirit of South Carolina, with total commitments in excess of $1 million.

The project’s sponsor, South Carolina Maritime Heritage Foundation, is beginning Phase II — planking the ship. The foundation will continue to seek donations, grants and sponsorship to fulfill the capital campaign budget of $4 million.

A business plan has been developed for the Spirit of South Carolina, and includes detailed capital cost projections, annual funding, education strategy, timeline, operating projections, market analysis and public relations. Some of the details include: plans to serve more than 2,800 students per year on board the tall ship; establishment of an education committee; and the need for an endowment fund and an educational programming fund.

Charlie Sneed, the man who founded the South Carolina Maritime Heritage Foundation in 2000, has moved on in pursuit of other projects.

The foundation also has a new publication, named “Voyage,” to help disseminate foundation news, maritime history and educational initiatives. The first edition was distributed to about 15,000 households in South Carolina in late 2004.

In-water boat show

to debut in Va. this fall

The Virginia In-Water Boat Expo will debut Sept. 9 to 11, in Norfolk, Va., as part of the annual Harborfest event.

“Discover Boating’s participation in the Norfolk Harborfest indicated that this was a great boating area for us,” says Thom Dammrich, president of the National Marine Manufacturers Association, which is co-producing the event with Festevents.

Organizers anticipate more than 100 boats and 75 accessory booths will be on display at the 2005 expo, which will also feature informational seminars, entertainment and food courts.

Coast Guard turns over

Oak Island Lighthouse

The Coast Guard bequeathed the Oak Island Lighthouse, located at Coast Guard Station Oak Island, to the Town of Caswell Beach, N.C., during a ceremony in October 2004.

The 169-foot, 66-year-old lighthouse and the property it was built on is now owned by the town, but the light will still be maintained by Coast Guard Group Fort Macon, N.C., engineering department.

Oak Island lighthouse was built in 1958 and dubbed the brightest lighthouse in the United States, and the second- brightest in the world for four years.

Hatteras award

nets $100K for charity

Hatteras Yachts won its third Chairman’s Gold Award for Safety from parent company Brunswick Corp., as well as its third Million Hour Safety Award from the North Carolina Department of Labor.

Both awards reflect the New Bern, N.C.-based company’s achievement of more than 3 million hours worked without a lost-time injury.

In recognition of the Hatteras achievement, Brunswick donated a $100,000 check to the Craven Regional Medical Center Foundation in Hatteras’ home city of New Bern.

Hatteras’ stretch without a lost-time injury dates back to September 2002, and at the time of the award presentation stood at 3.4 million hours and counting.

McKee Craft adds

new regional dealers

McKee Craft of North Carolina has named six new dealers: two in Florida, two in Maryland, and one each in New York and New Jersey, according to Hunt Leavitt, president of the company.

In Maryland the new dealers are McKee Yacht Sales, operated by Chris Surprenant in Stevensville, and Danny’s Marine, owned by Danny Bell at 86 Mile Marker on U.S. Route 50 (near East New Market).

The new dealer in New Jersey is Paul Hoffman’s McKee Yacht Sales located in Wildwood.

McKee Craft, founded in 1966, builds 14- to 28-foot fishing boats. Because of high-pressure, foam-filled hulls, the boats are unsinkable, according to the company.

Maritime museum names poster winners

The Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum announced the winners of their Hooper Strait Lighthouse Art Poster Contest during the lighthouse’s 125th anniversary celebration, Oct.16.

The contest featured more than 150 entries submitted by students from local elementary schools.

The first prize winners are:

• Kindergarten: Emma Brownawell, Saints Peter and Paul School

• Grades 1-3: Conor Broll, Saints Peter and Paul School

• Grade 4: Lynn Brugh Hatcher, Saints Peter and Paul School

• Grade 5: Sherin Abance, Easton Elementary School

• Grade 6: Madison Fox, Saints Peter and Paul School