Skip to main content

Rolex nominates its best seafarers

U.S. Sailing announced its nominees for the Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards in a recent press release. Nine men and six women were chosen from a panel of 13 sailing journalists that included Soundings editor Bill Sisson.

The nominees for Yachtsman are: 505 East Coast and Midwinter Champion Ethan Bixby (St. Petersburg, Fla.); J/22 World Champion Greg Fisher (Annapolis, Md./Columbus, Ohio); Etchells World Champion Bill Hardesty (San Diego); Sunfish World Champion Paul Foerster (Heath, Texas); TP52 World Champion Terry Hutchinson (Annapolis); Newport Bermuda Race winner Peter Rebovich (Metuchen, N.J.); SKUD-18 Paralympic gold medalist Nick Scandone (Fountain Valley, Calif.); Finn Olympic Silver Medalist Zach Railey (Clearwater, Fla.); and Lightning North American Champion Allan Terhune (Annapolis), according to the release.

The nominees for Yachtswoman are: 470 Women’s World Champion Isabelle Kinsolving (New York,N.Y.); 470 Women’s World Champion Erin Maxwell (Stonington/Norwalk,Conn.); SKUD-18 Paralympic Gold Medalist Maureen McKinnon-Tucker (Marblehead,Mass.); U.S. Women’s Match Racing Champion Molly O’Bryan Vandemoer (San Diego); and Laser Radial Olympic gold medalist Anna Tunnicliffe (Plantation, Fla.), according to the release.

This award is widely recognized as the sport’s ultimate recognition of a sailor’s outstanding on-the-water achievements each calendar year. It was established by U.S. Sailing in 1961 and has been sponsored by Rolex since 1980, according to the release. Nominees are determined by the membership of U.S. Sailing and is presented to a panel of sailing journalists who discuss the merits of each and then vote to determine the ultimate winners.

For information, visit

— Elizabeth Ellis