Skip to main content

Sail Scene

Young Florida sailor shines

Paige Railey sailed to eight firsts to win the 112-boat Laser Radial class at the Orange Bowl regatta in Miami in December.

Railey beat Kyle Rogachenko at the event hosted by the Coral Reef Yacht Club in Miami.

Oliver Riihiluoma of Bermuda was the top Optimist in a 210-boat class. Arantza Gumucio of Santiago, Chile, took second place — one point ahead of Sean Moynahan.

Adam Roberts and Marla Menninger from San Diego Yacht Club won the 95-boat 420 class and the California Yacht Club’s Christopher Wenner scored an impressive 10-point win in the 43-boat Laser class.

British yacht wins 60th Sydney Hobart race

The British yacht Aera won the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, becoming the third British yacht and the 12th international overall handicap winner in the 60-year history of the race.

Aera’s owner Nick Lykiardopulo was presented with the perpetual Tattersalls Trophy and a Rolex Yachtmaster watch. Aera, a Jason Ker-designed 55-footer, races under the burgee of the Royal Yacht Squadron in England and was skippered by prominent English yachtsman Jez Fanstone.

“This is truly the Everest of yacht racing,” said Lykiardopulo whose first Rolex Sydney Hobart was in the infamous race of 1998 in which six sailors died. He competed in that race with his previous Aera, a Swan 46, which won its handicap division.

“We compete to overcome the challenge of the sea, but we also respect it,” he said. “Every competitor and yacht in this race is a winner.”

Aera placed first overall and first in IRC Division A, beating the Line Honors winner, Ludde Ingvall’s Simonis/ Voogd-designed 90-footer Nicorette by 4 hours, 26 minutes, 46 seconds on corrected time. Third place went to Ichi Ban, owned and skippered by CYCA director Matt Allen, 1 hour 36 minutes back on corrected time.

Aera’s skipper Jez Fanstone said the win gave him great satisfaction but that sharing the experience and a few drinks at the end with “these 15 other blokes” was more important.

“We had a great boat and a great team,” said Fanstone when asked what got the boat through the rough conditions in this year’s race. “The 600-mile races are tough because you never get into any rhythm and you never get any rest.

“We did the preparation and let God hand out the prizes.”

Aussies dethrone

American champs

The Hobie 17 and 18 World Championships brought champions in with the New Year at Port Melbourne Yacht Club.

Australians Brad Sumner and Belinda Walkom easily won the Hobie 18 World Championship, taking a bullet in each of the 13 races. The pair has the distinction of being named one of the first two sailing World Champions for 2005.

The second world champion was Melbourne-area racer Aaron Worrall. who took the Hobie 17 crown from Americans Dan Kulkoski and Greg Raybon.

Sumner beat fellow Australians Andrew Nelson and Don McPhee by a massive 57 points and third-place father and son team of Richard and Michael Quinn by 58 points.

Both Worrall and second-placed Dan Kulkoski did not start in the final Race 13, the affable American conceding defeat and shaking hands with Worrall as the two reached the beach.

Rolex Women’s

Keelboat Championship

One of the most high-profile women’s keelboat regattas will be held Sept. 17-23 at the Annapolis Yacht Club.

The 2005 Rolex International Women’s Keelboat Championship will feature 11 races in five days with two days for registration, measurement and practice.

To receive by mail the race information, including entry requirements, chartering information and the schedule of events, send an e-mail to Taran Teague at Include the full name and mailing address in the text of the email. Sailors may also subscribe to receive updates by visiting