Skip to main content

Sailing association rewards its best

US Sailing recently presented awards to those who made an "extraordinary impact" in the areas of sailing education, race management and disabled sailing.

The Gay S. Lynn Memorial Trophy went to Betsy Alison, head coach of the U.S. Disabled Sailing Team AlphaGraphics.

Dick Allsopp received the Timothea Larr Award for his lifelong commitment to quality sailing education. Prior to becoming a US Sailing instructor trainer and member of the national faculty, Allsopp spent 32 years as a naval officer and aviator with the U.S. Navy.

The St. Petersburg Yacht Club Trophy went to Carolina Yacht Club of North Carolina for its excellence in race management.

Together and separately, Barbara and Tom Farquhar have been involved in all aspects of race management, earning them the Harman Hawkins Trophy.

Click here to read the full release.