Skip to main content

Small Stuff

Museum of Yachting inducts single-handers

The Museum of Yachting inducted four extraordinary solo sailors — Ellen MacArthur, Bertie Reed, Minoru Saito and Jean-Luc van den Heede — to The Single-Handed Sailor’s Hall of Fame.

The inductees were nominated by a panel of sailing experts including Bill Biewenga, Billy and Joyce Black, Jack Boye, Murray Davis, Sir Robin-Knox Johnston, Herb McCormick, J.P. Mouligne, Dick Newick, George Pike, Michael Richey and JP Trousilek. The selection criteria included: unique contribution to single-handed sailing, extraordinary achievement, pioneering spirit, outstanding performance, advancement of the sport, overcoming a remarkable challenge and providing a source of inspiration to others.

• Ellen MacArthur shot to fame when she became the fastest woman to sail solo around the world, finishing second in the 2001 Vendee Globe. She has since broken the record for fastest non-stop single-handed circumnavigation — 71 days — becoming the youngest person to receive a damehood from the Queen of England.

• Bertie Reed’s career in solo sailing began in 1982 when he placed first on handicap in the inaugural BOC Challenge, and subsequently logged over 100,000 miles of single-handed ocean racing. The South African received the Wolraad Woltemade Decoration — the highest civilian award for bravery, a presidential citation for outstanding seamanship, brave action and sportsmanship and his name was entered into the Civic Honours Book of the City of Cape Town after rescuing John Martin on his approach to Cape Horn.

• Minoru Saito of Japan is a three-time competitor in single-handed around-the-globe races including the BOC Challenge and the Around Alone. He has logged over 240,000 transoceanic nautical miles in his career. In 2005, at age 71, Saito completed “Challenge 7” his seventh solo circumnavigation non-stop, becoming the oldest person ever to do so.

• Jean-Luc van den Heede has completed five successful single-handed around the world voyages including 2 BOC Challenges — a third in 1995 and a second in 1986 — and 2 Vendee Globe Challenges — a second and third in 1993 and 1980, respectively. For five years, starting in 1999, van den Heede strove to break the Global Challenge record for sailing around the world single-handedly without stopping against the prevailing winds and currents. In 2004 he succeeded by crossing the finish line between Lizard and Ushant in just 122 days, 14 hours, 3 minutes, 49 seconds.

An induction ceremony will take place at the Museum of Yachting in Newport, R.I., in July.


ASA names its top schools, instructors

The American Sailing Association has announced its “OustandingSchools and Instructors” of 2005. The ASA, a network of 300 sailing schools conducts polls of students.

The top 20 outstanding schools for 2005 are: Adventure Cruising and Sailing (Fla.); Barnegat Bay Sailing School (N.J.); Bay Breeze (Mich.); Baysail (Md.); Diamond 99 Marina (Fla.); Flagship Sailing (Fla.); Island Fever (Okla.); Learn to Sail (Calif.); Lighthouse Landing (Ky.); Nelson Sailing Center (N.J.); New Jersey Sailing School (N.J.); Norton’s Yachts (Va.); Sailtime Annapolis (Md.); Santa Barbara Sailing Center (Calif.); Sea Mist Skippers (Calif.); Spinnaker Sailing RWC (Calif.); Sunsail Tortola (BVI); The Maryland School of Sailing (Md.); The Virginia School of Sailing (Va.); Windward Sailing (Fla.).

The outstanding instructors for 2005 are: Jack Findlater, Monte Froelich, Debbie Graham, John Herderson, Michael Hirlinger, Andy Hollingsworth, Matt Holt, Keith Jackson, Zander Lassen, Joe Laughlin, Bruce Liese, Steve Lineberry, Joe Logan, Bob Morgan, Bill Mount, Peter Must, Lee Pearce, Michael Rice, Jeff Riecks, Barney Riley, Bill Sigmund, Brad Sindle, Leslie Steinkoenig, Charlie Weaver.