Skip to main content

Small Stuff

American named top international sailor

The International Sailing Federation named the male and female winners of the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards Nov. 6: Ed Baird (USA) and Claire Leroy (FRA).

“This has been a massive effort by a big, big team,” said America’s Cup-winning helmsman Ed Baird.

The ISAF also inducted six sailors for the inaugural ISAF Sailing Hall Of Fame. Paul Elvström, Sir Robin Knox-Johnson, Dame Ellen Macarthur, Olin Stephens, Barbara Kendall and Éric Tabarly as the first six inductees for the ISAF Sailing Hall of Fame.

Build a crew Web site offered for free

For sailors and boating enthusiasts, it has always been a chore to keep good communication with fellow crewmembers to share info, pictures and schedule events.

Blue Water Media addresses this need with a newly created Web site platform called Telltale, which allows sailors to create a personalized boating site within minutes by entering information about their boat and crew.

The new site allows the crewmembers to communicate with each other in one central location, post photos, schedule events and regattas, post racing results and more.

Yacht club wins race management trophy

US Sailing awarded its trophy for excellence in race management to St. Petersburg Yacht Club of Florida. The name of the trophy, which has been awarded since 1978, is the St. Petersburg Yacht Club Trophy since the club donated it to US Sailing the previous year. This is, however, the first time for St. Petersburg Yacht Club to receive its namesake trophy.

St. Petersburg Yacht Club was selected from a list of 13 nominated sailing organizations for outstanding organization and execution of the 2007 Winter Lightning Championship held last March in which 73 boats competed.

Emblematic of excellence in race management, the St. Petersburg Yacht Club Trophy was awarded originally by St. Petersburg Yacht Club in the late 1960s to recognize the club that ran the best regatta. The trophy was retired for several years until it was donated to US Sailing in 1977.

The winner is selected on the basis of race management superiority and evaluation by participating skippers. To be eligible for the St. Petersburg Yacht Club Trophy in 2008, events must be held between Sept. 1, 2007 and Aug. 31, 2008.