Skip to main content

Soundings writers honored by fellow marine journalists

Writers for Soundings and its sister publication, Soundings Trade Only, were presented with nine writing awards by Boating Writers International.

The awards, presented at the Miami International Boat Show Feb. 17, recognize top marine journalists throughout the country for excellence in writing. Presentations were given in 14 contest categories, and $14,000 in prize money was awarded for stories published in 2005. The annual writing contest, now in its 13th year, drew 636 entries.

Soundings senior writer Doug Campbell received two first-place awards and a third-place award. “Understanding the science behind tsunamis,” captured a first prize in the ethics and environment category, while his two-part Atlantic Ocean rescue account “Gulf Steam gales” received top honors in the seamanship category. Campbell’s third prize-winning story was “A century of sailing,” about the Nathanael Herreshoff-designed New York 30 sailing class.

Tom Neale, technical editor for Soundings, was honored with a first place for his story, “How to be a hero at the docks.” Neale also won a third prize for another how-to story, “Tips from a boater’s bag of tricks.”

Jim Flannery, a senior writer for Soundings, received first place in the consumer issues, news and analysis category for his account, “Hurricane Katrina.” Flannery also was awarded second place in the seamanship category for “80-year-old survives 18 hours in the water,” about diver Ignacio Siberio’s rescue from a buoy in the Florida Keys.

Soundings editor Bill Sisson was honored with second place for his column, “Under Way.”

Trade Only associate editor JoAnn W. Goddard won third place in the business of boating category for “The Boomer Bubble.”

Soundings and Soundings Trade Only also won seven merit awards, given to writers whose work scored within 95 percent of the third-place tallies. Soundings writers Neale, George Sass Jr., Steve Knauth and Charles Fuss received merits, along with Trade Only writers Goddard, Gary Beckett and Melanie Winters

— JoAnn W. Goddard