Skip to main content
Publish date:

Winner named in sail race to Bermuda

The yacht Carina won the St. David's Lighthouse Division in the 2010 Newport Bermuda Race. Owned and sailed by Rives Potts with a crew blending four families, Carina is the 46th winner of the race's top trophy in the 104-year history of the race, which runs 635 miles from Newport, R.I., to St. David's Light, Bermuda.

The 48-foot McCurdy & Rhodes-designed sloop won on corrected time under the Offshore Racing Rule by the large margin of 3 hours, 35 minutes over Gregory B. Manning's Sarah. Belle Aurore, a Cal 40 owned by R. Douglas Jurrius was third, seven minutes behind Sarah.

Click here for up-to-date news and results.