Skip to main content

VIDEO: Think You Know Sharks?


Shark species can be difficult to identify, but knowing how to do so is important for recreational fishermen who want to pursue sharks in the federal waters of the Atlantic Ocean, the Gulf of Mexico and the Caribbean.

Starting Jan. 1, 2018, anglers in those waters who want to retain sharks they catch will need to add a valid shark endorsement to their Highly Migratory Species permit.

NOAA Fisheries said there are 21 species of sharks — dusky sharks, for example — that anglers cannot keep. “If you don’t know, let it go,” is the standard advice.

This NOAA Fisheries video has more:

Be sure you check out NOAA Fisheries’ Shark Identification Guide. It’s useful to print and keep in your boat.



VIDEO: Whale watching

Whales are being closer and closer to shore – here’s how to see them while keeping yourself, and your boat, safe.


VIDEO: The ocean cleanup

What if there was a better way to clean the oceans? Tune in to find out.


VIDEO: Crab picking 101

Maryland and the Chesapeake Bay are synonymous with blue crabs, a tasty crustacean with a bad attitude. Unfortunately, their meat is cleverly tucked away under an armored shell. Watch a crab-picking pro with 65 years of experience show how to quickly get at the good stuff.


VIDEO: Chesapeake Bay Birding Guide

Not only is the Chesapeake Bay a prime spot for boating, it is also one of the best locations for bird watching.


How-to Videos on Servicing Walker AIRSEP® Air Filters

Walker AIRSEP Air Filters are designed to keep down noxious gas and oil mist on turbocharged diesel engines. Check out these videos to replace, clean, identify, or get familiar with your AIRSEP system.


VIDEO: Classic Maine Style

These Down East boats have a classic feel, but their Maine builders are keeping them up to date.